Black History Month at Xavier University

         The month of February for me has always consisted of a presentation or report of a popular Civil Rights leaders such as Rosa Parks, Martin Luther King Jr. and Malcom X. The perception of my culture was misconstrued because I did not fully understand the significance of the month of February. Now that I am going to a Historically Black University, the process of me only going through the motions of my history and culture of as an African American is no more. Being a student at Xavier has not only educated me on the history of my ancestors, but also taught me how to embrace my Blackness.

       Black History Month this year at Xavier welcomed three influential Civil Rights activists: Dr. Marc Lamont Hill, Shaun King and Stevona Elm Rogers. All of these speakers have been activists for the Black Lives Matter (BLM) Movement. Hill was the first speaker to visit  the university on Thursday, Feb. 2, with his charismatic and humorous personality. Shaun King is the next speaker in line to visit Xavier. King is well known for his ability to use social media as a platform to promote religious issues, charities and BLM Movement. In addition, King is the senior justice writer for the New York Daily and a political commentator for The Young Turks, a news and commentary YouTube channel.King will be speaking to students tomorrow at 6 p.m. in the University Center. Last but not least will be Rogers, who will arrive Wednesday Feb. 22. She is a author, activist and educator.

       As a student activist, people like Hill, King and Rogers inspire me to make an investment in my community. But more importantly to stand up for what is right while inspiring others to do the same.

“We live in a world where black humanity is a relatively new idea.” –Marc Lamont Hill

Leave a Reply

