Differences = Minutia

               With style and their witty political commentary, stars arrived at the Shrine Auditorium Sunday at the Screen Actors Guild (SAG)  Award Show. As I watched the night unfolded on my 20″ television screen, the accomplishments of notable films touched me however the constant hints towards Trump’s Muslim ban is what surprised me.

    Shortly after winning most outstanding performance by a cast in a motion picture, ‘Hidden Figures’ star Taraji P. Henson, delivered a minute-long speech. Henson expressed that when people are able to put their differences aside they are able to reach the stars. Although Henson’s speech was able to touch the hearts of everyone watching the award show, the crowd’s emotions poured out when ‘Moonlight’ actor Mahershala Ali gave his acceptance speech for outstanding performance by a male actor in a supporting role. Ali fought hard to hold back tears, while disclosing why ‘Moonlight’ meant so much to him.

“My mother is an ordained mister. I’m a Muslim she didn’t do back flips when I called and told her I converted 17 years ago. But I tell you we put things aside. I am able to see her and she is able to see me,” Ali said.

    Moreover, Ali point out that we should allow ourselves to see the texture of someone without letting our differences hold us back. But one word stuck out to me during Ali’s speech, ‘minutia‘ by using context clues I figured the word meant small or precise. The differences one may have with Muslims or any other group should not hinder us from seeing the beauty in their personality. Those differences are simply Minutia.

  • Related Articles:

SAG Awards gets political after Trump’s Immigration Ban

Mahershala Ali absolutely killed it

 

Leave a Reply

